Download Festival - Home

New Albums To Get hyped About In 2019

Strap in Downloaders as we’re running down the New Albums To Get Hyped About in 2019 and there are some immense rock, metal and pop punk releases coming your way.

So, forget the January blues and get psyched for new releases from Slipknot, Whitesnake, Dream Theater, Amon Amarth and many more.

Slipknot – TBA

Release date: Summer 2019

When Slipknot unleashed their first single in four years, ‘All Out Life’, last October we knew we couldn’t wait to get their upcoming sixth album in our ears.

The Iowa metallers are currently working on the record in Los Angeles with producer Greg Fidelman, who produced the band’s previous album, .5: The Gray Chapter and engineered and mixed their 2004 album, Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses), so they guys are in good hands.

Speaking to Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show, Corey Taylor revealed that the album’s “going to be one of the darkest chapters in Slipknot’s history; it’s that good.”

Bring it on maggots, bring it on. \m/

Tool – TBA

Release date: TBC

A post by Maynard James Keen on Twitter on 4th January nearly made us choke on our Greggs vegan sausage roll as he indicated that Tool’s long-awaited fifth album was in the final mixing stage.

It’s been nearly 13 years since the band released their last album ‘10,000 Days’ and for the past two years rumours have abounded that the release of a new album was imminent. The Download Dog is crossing his paws and tail on this one and hoping that 2019 is THE year.

Whitesnake – Flesh and Blood

Release date: May 2019

Is this love that I’m feelin’? Yes it is as Whitesnake are releasing their 13th album ‘Flesh and Blood’ this May. You won’t have to wait too long for new material as ahead of the album the band will release lead single, ‘Shut Up and Kiss Me’.

Flesh and Blood is the first new album from David Coverdale and co since 2015’s Purple Album and the first new material from the band since 2011’s Forevermore.

Speaking to SiriusXFM (via Blabbermouth) David Coverdale said that the album has “all the necessary Whitesnake elements that I need to call it Whitesnake, but with a vibrant, fresh coat of paint”.

With the album set to drop one month before Download 2019, we cannot wait to hear the new songs played out across the fields of Donington Park.


Die Antwoord – 27

Release date: TBC

Die Antwoord don’t know how to conform and this is why they’re so sick. Last June the South African duo shared in a series of tweets that their upcoming final album is called 27 and that it would be, “released unusually over the next year or so”.

The band also posted that the album would feature “27 songs and many collaborations with our favourite artists in the world”. Not content with just one album, the Yolandi and Ninja also shared that, “the main 27 album will be released as a 10 track soundtrack to a 27 feature film we are busy making atm”.

With no tracks surfacing in 2018 and the band previously saying that the “17 tracks will be hidden in various places”, we’re keeping our eye balls glued to their Twitter feed in 2019.

Dream Theater – Distance Over Time

Release date: 22nd February 2019

You won’t have to wait to get a taste of the forthcoming album from Dream Theater ‘Distance Over Time as today the band dropped new track ‘Fall Into The Light’ taken from the record. It’s so good it made the Download Dog drool.

Distance Over Time is the prog titan’s 14th album and the first to be released on the band’s new label, InsideOutMusic/Sony Music. It’s promises to showcase a newfound creativity from the band, while reassuringly maintaining the elements of Dream Theater we know and adore.

Zebrahead – Brain Invaders

Release date: 8th March 2019

Another band tantilising us with a new tracks from their upcoming album are Zebrahead. This week the band dropped ‘All My Friends Are Nobodies’ the first single taken from their forthcoming album, Brain Invaders, and it’s more bouncy than the Avalanche Stage on the first day of Download.

Brain Invaders is the Orange County punk rocker’s 11th studio album and was produced by the band and Paul Miner (New Found Glory, Atreyu, Thrice, Death by Stereo) and mixed by Kyle Black (Pierce the Veil, Paramore, New Found Glory.)

Lamb Of God

Release date: Late 2019

Last October Lamb Of God drummer Chris Adler shared the awesome news that the band are looking to release their next album before Christmas 2019. Speaking to Metal Injection he said the band hope to “get things in shape” in-between their tour with Slayer and to record it in fall 2019.

The album is the successor to last year’s covers album Legion: XX’ and will be the first album of original material from the band since 2015’s VII: Sturm und Drang.

With Adler predicting that the album will “hopefully [be] out for Christmas presents for all you kids”, we can’t wait to see what Santa has in his sack for us this December – ding dong.

Amon Amarth – TBA

Release Date: TBC

Amon Amarth confirmed recently that they’ve finished work on the follow-up to 2016’s Jomsviking. The currently untitled new album was recorded in Los Angeles and unlike it’s predecessor is (brace yourself) not a concept album!

Speaking to Revolver singer Johan Hegg explained that this time he was “lazy” and waited to write the lyrics for the album until after the music was complete.

Lyrically he said that the album is “more introverted stuff, as well — songs that kind of relate to my private life”.  But, fear not Viking lovers as Hegg also revealed that one track entitled ‘The Shield War’ is “based on a real viking battle tactic”. Crisis averted.

PLUS, Badflower,  Delain, Tesla and Whitechapel are also all set to drop new albums in 2019 – it is going to be a HUGE year.

If that’s got your psyched to hear new music you know what to do. Tickets and Instalment Plans for Download 2019 on 14th-16th June are on sale now!